Brownfield Land Register

The Brownfield Land Register provides information on brownfield land suitable for residential development, based on the criteria set out in planning regulations.

All local planning authorities in England are required to produce a register, in a standardised way. The register consists of two parts, Part 1 and Part 2.

Part 1

Part 1 consists of all sites which meet the following criteria:

  • an area of at least 0.25 hectares or capable of supporting at least five dwellings (we can include smaller sites if we wish)
  • suitable and available for residential development


  • residential development of the land is achievable   

You can view a composite map of the register:

Part 1 does not allocate land or assume planning permission will be granted for housing or any other form of development.

Part 2

Part 2 will consist of sites from Part 1 which we wish to grant ‘permission in principle’. We are required to update the Brownfield Land Register at least once a year.

We are not yet in a position to produce Part 2 of the register.

Last updated 28 March 2024