Skip to main contentAccessibility Statement

Term dates

We set term dates for community and voluntary controlled schools. Five training days are chosen at the discretion of individual schools every academic year. Please check your school's website as needed.

Alternative dates

Academies, free, foundation and voluntary aided schools may choose their own term dates. Please check school websites.

Academic year 2022 – 2023

Autumn term 2022

Thursday 1 September to Friday 16 December

  • Half term holiday: Monday 24 October to Friday 28 October
  • Christmas holiday: Monday 19 December to Friday 30 December
  • Bank holiday: Monday 2 January 2023

Spring term 2023

Tuesday 3 January to Friday 31 March

  • Bank holiday: Monday 2 January
  • Half term holiday: Monday 13 February to Friday 17 February
  • Easter holiday: Monday 3 April to Friday 14 April 

Summer term 2023

Monday 17 April to Friday 21 July

  • Bank holiday: Monday 1 May
  • Half term holiday: Monday 29 May to Friday 2 June
  • Summer holiday: Monday 24 July to Thursday 31 August

Academic year 2023 – 2024

Autumn term 2023

Monday 4 September to Wednesday 20 December

  • Half term holiday: Monday 23 October to Friday 27 October
  • Christmas holiday: Thursday 21 December to Wednesday 3 January

Spring term 2024

Thursday 4 January to Thursday 28 March

  • Half term holiday: Monday 19 February to Friday 23 February
  • Bank holidays: Friday 29 March and Monday 1 April
  • Easter holiday: Tuesday 2 April to Friday 12 April

Summer term 2024

Monday 15 April to Tuesday 23 July

  • Bank holiday: Monday 6 May
  • Half term holiday: Monday 27 May to Friday 31 May
  • Summer holiday: Wednesday 24 July to Friday 30 August

Last updated 02 September 2022